54 Comments
Nov 29, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

I started this morning. I commit to 20 minutes 2x a day during the entire season of Advent to sit in silence and prayer.

I have to laugh; in early America, prison reformers suggested that inmates spend time in their empty cell contemplating their sins. Some of the men went mad!

I might suggest that people sit and pray (or meditate) where they are most comfortable. Most monks either pray in the chapel or their stall, and they may continue to pray in their room with a cross and some books. I pray in my outdoor library (or cell) with icons. I don't read or listen to music. I have no electronics in the room (I wear an analog watch to keep time). Part of choosing a place with religious items or precious mementos is remind yourself of your past, your commitment to the beliefs of your faith and its traditions, and to facilitate worship of God's continual presence and love for you.

With friendship and thanks for your leadership here! --Diana

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

I’m really deep in distraction but I will start with 10mins x 1 and work up.

Expand full comment

I'm on the old calendar and so the fast just began for me yesterday. I made the commitment to eliminate my usual avenues of distraction as over the past year it has become more and more apparent to me that it is impeding my way along the path. Even one day in and immediately what bubbled up were my doubts about God, faith, religion, myself. One single day of no distraction and so many dragons reared their heads. Thankfully I was able to express much of this to a loved one, but it amazed me. Even as someone who thinks he's made good headway into being mindful and present I realize I'm absolutely mired in the murk of distraction, maybe not drowning like most of our culture seems to be at present, but not much better off. I pray God reveals to me what needs revealing, to reveal what I have the strength to endure, to look with the eyes of compassion and loving-kindness towards my own feeble soul and for the courage to do the necessary work of bearing my cross and following the via dolorosa.

Expand full comment

My post about a morning quiet time reminds me of this! Absolutely LOVE it. So necessary.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

"Christ the Eternal Tao" has been on my radar for a while. I really need to check it out. On the distraction front, I feel you. I can be very nearly a physical thing that drives me to escape the moment in some frivolous entertainment. And with the advent of the smart phone, that escape is readily available at a moments notice. Of course, the phone isn't the problem but something in me. Lord have mercy.

Expand full comment

Just came across this post today. I'm in. I sit in silence in the woods, everyday, for 2 hours, but I am happy to add this 1 hour a day sitting in silence, in an empty, silent space without distraction. Appreciate the 'invitation'.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

“But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret, And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.” Words of Jesus, Matthew 6:6

Expand full comment

I'm in, Jack, and very much looking forward to this practice. I don't know the amount of time yet, but I shall know it soon. God bless you. Love, Michelle

Expand full comment

I'm for 2 x 15 min this time. If I am successful, perhaps I can push it to 2 x 20 min during Lent.

Expand full comment
Nov 30, 2022·edited Nov 30, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

Dear Jack, thanks for this challenge. I am intrigued by it and I will commit to it.

I hope I'm not getting lost in the details, but would something like this be different from a lectio divina ? In that the latter involves meditating and thinking on scripture, while the former involves simply being present with yourself and God with no external stimulus.

During this practice, thoughts come about - what am I to do with them ?

When Nietzsche talks about gazing into the abyss and not turning away from the monsters we find there, is he referring to these thoughts ? Or is it that by time, one is able to go beyond such thoughts and deeper into the reality of the self ?

Apologies for so many questions.

Thanks again, and God Bless all

Expand full comment

I'm in, with a recommitment to my daily meditative mindfulness practice. I'm away from home and typically forget it outside my own space.

Expand full comment

We're in (Mark and Lisa)! We can't promise we'll be somewhere with no external distractions, diversions or interruptions, but we're still in. To each according to their conditions....

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

I started reading Mountain of Silence this week. Ill add this to the advent season as well.

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

I'm in, Jack. Thanks for the idea. I'm not attending quaker meetings now but I've always loved the silence there.

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

Is this mimetic rivalry on the spiritual path? ;)

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2022Liked by Jack Leahy

Yes, good idea. Are you suggesting breath meditation?

Expand full comment

I am in!

Expand full comment

I think I can do this.

Expand full comment